Processing your orders & deliveries right now may be a little slower than usual while we get back up and running after lockdown. We're sorry about this but the good news is that you can now order a brand new vehicle all online! And if you do need to talk to us, we've extended our opening hours to 9pm weekdays and 8pm weekends!

Search for the best van and pickup leasing deals.

Toyota Proace Van Review

0 Stars (24 Reviews)

Latest Reviews

  • Stuart Baker - 16/07/2020

    very good although i have only done 330 miles in it as of yet.

    4 Stars
  • David Wilmott - 29/04/2020

    Its working as it should, and getting me to work when i need to.

    5 Stars
  • Lee Cook - 28/01/2020

    Excellent van and good value for money

    5 Stars
Read more reviews
  • Handling: STARS
  • Comfort: STARS
  • Quality: STARS
  • Reliability: STARS
  • Performance: STARS
  • Practicality: STARS
  • Running Costs: STARS
  • Value for Money: STARS

Expert Review

I'm delighted, no, I'm vibrating with happiness to introduce you to the Toyota Proace medium van! This is the 4th van we've reviewed that's built on the PSA Group EMP2 Platform - we've done the Vauxhall Vivaro, the Citroen Dispatch & the Peugeot Expert but today, let's see how the Toyota Proace handles the Vanarama Road Test...

 

Taking A Look At The Outside Of The Toyota Proace

Let's start at the front where we always do… first impressions are that this is the first EMP2 Platform van that actually looks a little bit different. That's not a coincidence - when PSA Group & Toyota were talking about sharing this platform, Toyota said "we'll do it, but we want our Proace to look different". Well, I think they've absolutely nailed it. You just have to look at the huge Toyota badge on the black gloss & metal grille that pulls your eyes around into the massive headlight clusters - they're not only bespoke & huge, but they've also got their own washers at this trim level.

At the Design trim level, you get all of these nice little features like the metal & a kind of brushed aluminium around the splitter. But that's not where the differences end... on the other EMP2 platform vans, instead of the nice body colour panels at the bottom of the front, you just have black plastic all the way around, but Toyota has ensured this area is cut out & the fog lights make it look that little bit different. Overall it looks a lot less snub-nosed at the front & actually feels like it's jutting out a little bit further, it's very cool, very imposing & even when it's standing still it looks like it's in motion. I for one, absolutely love it.

The front of this van is not the only show stopper. As I take a look at the side, the excellent 5-spoke alloy wheels really stand out. At the lower trim levels, you get steel wheels & although it's not a dealbreaker, why go for steel when you can have alloy? You also get body coloured wing mirrors at this trim level, which I think are really nice, plus they come with blind spot monitor warnings on them, so if there is anything in your blind spot, a little light goes on & keeps you safe. The whole side of this medium van just looks cool & the chrome door handles (which are also used at the back) are really the icing on the cake.

 

The Loading Bay On The Toyota Proace

Proace Loadin Bay Dual Sliding Doors

 

When I open up the back doors, as you'd expect, they open to 90 degrees & when you disengage the locks, they open up to a full 180 degrees. Dimensions-wise, the door at the back is 1.2 metres wide & 1.2 metres high & the loading bay itself is 2.5 metres long. If you open the load through though, that extends to 3.6 metres, that is really really good in terms of width.

At its widest, it's 1.6 metres & just between the arches that's 1.25 metres. If you head round to the side sliding doors, they are 0.9 metres wide & 1.2 metres high & because this is the 2-litre diesel version, the payload is 1,400 kilograms - now that really sets this van apart from its competition, well, aside from all the other vans that share the same platform of course!



Inside The Cabin Of The Toyota Proace

Getting into the cabin of the Proace makes me think back to my reviews of the Citroen Dispatch & the Vauxhall Vivaro due to the interior similarities - but actually, the familiarity is only skin deep. Toyota has done a very good job of adding some bells & whistles at the Design trim level. Starting with the steering wheel, it has the same nice black durable plastic that you've seen in all the other reviews, but this one comes with some additional controls. On the left-hand side there are controls for the driver information display, as well as the audio controls & on the right-hand side there are controls for the radio stations, the screen & voice control.

 

Toyota Proace Steering Wheel

 

Behind the steering wheel there's some paddle shifters. Now, this is an automatic vehicle so these don't actually engage unless you tell the vehicle that you want to use them. Once you've decided to go manual, they're very nice, very functional & very easy to use. The dashboard in the Proace is very clear & you get a full colour driver information display too, which shows all the usual information such as your speed, your average miles per gallon & of course your emissions. You've also got a nice clear speedo, rev counter, oil temp gauge & fuel gauge - just as you'd expect.

So let's move onto the important stuff… cup holders. Now look, I've spoken at great length about my disappointment with this group's cup holders so I'll say no more about it & just move on. If you're looking for storage, the Proace has a nice flip top cubbyhole - it's not the deepest ever but the addition of the lid means that anything you put in there will stay there. The big infotainment screen at the Design trim level comes with sat-nav as standard too, which is a lovely addition. On the screen you've got the usual settings such as all your car settings, the general settings for the screen itself, your apps where you'll be able to access Android Auto & Apple Carplay & also your phone settings so you can hook your phone up through a USB connection or through Bluetooth.

 

Toyota Proace Infotainment Screen

 

Below the screen, you've got your air conditioning system which in these vans is always ace. Below that you've got a line of buttons including your full lock, your load bay lock, your hazards & just next to that you can turn traction control on & off. Just below that there is also a little cubby hole where I stashed my key fob alongside the ignition button, a USB socket & a 12 volt socket as well. As this is an automatic vehicle, instead of a gear stick, you've got a radial dial, which is nice & very easy to use. Plus, as I mentioned, if you want to use the paddles to go full manual you can by pressing the M button which activates them.

Moving onto more of the storage in the van, let's talk about the glovebox first. There is a difference here to the typical PSA glovebox; whilst the others are just plain old black plastic, in the Toyota Proace it's lined with some lovely black felt. Below that you've got a small, strange little cubby hole with a divider… to be honest I'm not sure what it's for but below it you've got a nice deep cubby hole which seems to go on for miles right the way to the back. There are also 3 little additions to this one including a 12-volt socket, your aux-in & your on/off switch for the passenger airbag.

Moving on to the under-seat storage & just next to the driver seat there is a panel which you simply pull out to reveal a cubby hole that you could fit probably a couple of sandwiches or maybe a couple of digital devices into. Next to that another panel which rises up reveals your load through, which increases the loading base length from around 2.5 metres to 3.6, so if you've got any longer lengths of metal work, piping, timber etc, you can just shove them through there - a really nice addition!

 

Toyota Proace Mobile Office

 

Speaking of nice additions & another feature of the cabin which I really like is the familiar mobile office which you can pull down next to the driver seat. You've got a clipboard that folds out & the bungee cord to hold documents in place & a little cubby hole as well for business cards or maybe a couple of pens. Once you're done, you just fold it up & put it away.

The final feature of the interior, which I have to mention before we get on the road, is the heads-up display which slides up when you start the engine to show what speed you're going. You can also move it around using controls to put it higher, lower, brighter or darker depending on whether you're driving in daylight or nighttime. A lovely little addition & overall a great interior.

 

On The Road With The Toyota Proace

Unfortunately, at the beginning of this review I thought it was going to stay relatively dry, but then the heavens opened & as I started my road test it was absolutely tipping it down. Actually, it's great as it gives me an opportunity to try out the wipers, the demister settings & all sorts of stuff. Let's face it, you're going to need to know these things for the British weather! In the cabin, I'm very nice & warm, the wipers are doing a very good job & my visibility is pretty much perfect. The heads-up display is also a really nice addition in weather such as this as when there's all that spray hitting the windscreen you don't really want to take your eyes off the road & with that you don't have to as you can always tell what speed you're clocking.

 

Toyota Proace On The Road

 

All the other vans I've driven that share this platform have been manual - this is the first one I've had which is fully automatic so it's a nice difference. This is a 2-litre diesel engine with an 8-speed automatic gearbox & it's very nice & comfortable. The transitions between gears are very smooth & I have to admit, not having to mess around with the gears is great. I can just sit back & enjoy it & when you're at the Design trim level in the Toyota Proace it's all about sitting back & enjoying its a very comfortable interior. It feels a little bit more refined than the other vans that share this platform - the heads-up display adds that kind of futuristic side to it & the big screen in the middle & the sat-nav as standard just give it that something extra.

Fuel economy is something that the PSA group & Toyota on this platform talk about a lot, their engines are all very efficient. This one is a 2-litre diesel engine, attached to that automatic 8-speed gearbox. I've got to be honest with you, I've been driving for a fair while now & I was expecting you know high 20s maybe just peeking into the 30s but actually I'm getting an average miles per gallon of around 36 to 39 miles per gallon, which for a diesel engine two litres in size, is pretty good.

I don't even mind in this van when I pull up to some traffic lights because of how comfortable it is & how relaxing it feels to have the automatic gearbox. I'm not worrying about when I have to take off. I just sit & wait - I can feel the hill assist kick in, the engine stops because it's stop/start & it just feels like everything is done for you, it's great.

 

A Final Verdict On THe Toyota Proace

Overall, the Proace just feels very Toyota - the build quality on the outside is really nice & I love the fact that they made a fuss about making the exterior more interesting & different to the others that share the platform. I love the fact that the interior has those few little bells & whistles. I love that it's got a HUD. I love that it's got the big infotainment screen. I like that the inside of the glove box is lined with felt.

 

Toyota Proace Badge

 

What I've always said is that I don't believe platform sharing blunts innovation, there are a lot of industry observers that say that it does, but they are the ones that aren't taking into account the sheer amount of money it takes to actually develop a new van platform! It makes more sense to share & actually true innovation comes from those business realities. It costs a lot of money to develop a van platform, so share it with a close business friend - that's what we have done. They have also made it their own - Toyota actually said to PSA group 'we want it to be like one of ours, we know that it's going to have the same back end & the lack of height options, but we're going to make up for it by making it recognisably Toyota & they've done that. The innovation is very easy to see & I've got to say that the other platform sharers may not necessarily have done it as aggressively as Toyota. This van feels like a Toyota precisely because they pushed hard & they had to innovate on a common platform.

The van itself feels safe to drive, it feels efficient to drive & it feels like you're getting bags of power as well as a good response. There's enough bells & whistles in there to keep you happy & the heads up display is a great addition to this very very well-rounded offering from Toyota. The Design trim level is definitely the trim level I would recommend to anyone, not only does it have rear parking sensors it has front parking sensors, fog lights, it's got a really nice looking front end, it's got a splitter, it's got the name Proace on the front, on the back, on the doors, on the loading lip… there's an element of pride from Toyota to put their name on this van & I think I completely understand why they're proud! What they've created is a wonderful van. A big thumbs up from me!

 

Don't forget to check out our Van Leasing Deals where you'll find unbeatable prices on a range of all the latests ranges and models.

Customer reviews

Below are our customer reviews for the Toyota Proace. Want to have your say? Leave a review for the Toyota Proace now.

  • Toyota Proace
    January 25 2020

    I’ve had my van for a week now. It’s smooth to drive & it’s perfect for my needs.

  • Toyota Proace
    December 04 2019

    Lovely van and a joy to drive. Reliability not sure yet as only done 300 miles. Automatic drive on van is great.

  • Toyota Proace
    November 23 2019

    Very pleased with the van

  • Toyota Proace
    October 21 2019

    The van I great. The rear number plate isn't straight which bugs me

  • Toyota Proace
    October 08 2019

    Great can

  • Toyota Proace
    July 30 2019

    Great van drives like a car.

  • Toyota Proace
    July 25 2019

    Great vehicle big quick and all the good tec

  • Toyota Proace
    July 08 2019

    Lovely responsive van to drive

  • Toyota Proace
    July 08 2019

    Lovely responsive van to drive

  • Toyota Proace
    July 05 2019

    Fantastic van. Handles like a large car but more practical. I would not hesitate in recommending this vehicle and have already done so

  • Toyota Proace
    June 27 2019

    First impressions, a great value for money van, with comfort and a good build quality.

  • Toyota Proace
    June 24 2019

    A great van. It is like driving a luxury car.

  • Toyota Proace
    January 24 2019

    The Toyota Proace Medium 115 Icon is a really lovely van, it has a real feel of quality and finish. The size is perfect for me as a Carpenter, the ply lining was done to a high standard. Having a 5 year warranty for me is also great as my lease is for 5 years. After doing some research I decided to go for the Toyota and I’m happy I did, even though the long wait of 15 weeks, it was worth the wait. On another positive note the insurance has halved from my old Nissan Navara, as too will the mpg ! The 115 bhp 1.6D model has got plenty of go I’m glad I went for this engine too as also returns the best mpg of all engine choices. The best thing I’ve found is that it doesn’t feel as big to drive as I thought it would be, even though it’s a great size van. 10/10 for me a beautiful van.

  • Toyota Proace
    January 24 2019

    The Toyota Proace Medium 115 Icon is a really lovely van, it has a real feel of quality and finish. The size is perfect for me as a Carpenter, the ply lining was done to a high standard. Having a 5 year warranty for me is also great as my lease is for 5 years. After doing some research I decided to go for the Toyota and I’m happy I did, even though the long wait of 15 weeks, it was worth the wait. On another positive note the insurance has halved from my old Nissan Navara, as too will the mpg ! The 115 bhp 1.6D model has got plenty of go I’m glad I went for this engine too as also returns the best mpg of all engine choices. The best thing I’ve found is that it doesn’t feel as big to drive as I thought it would be, even though it’s a great size van. 10/10 for me a beautiful van.

  • Toyota Proace
    January 22 2019

    Fantastic van only thing I wish it had more storage in the dash like a transit has

  • Toyota Proace
    April 25 2018

    This is quite simply the best medium sized van I have ever driven... The added extras makes longer journeys a pleasure not a chore..

  • Toyota Proace
    April 04 2018

    Great van. A lovely drive, lots of space.

  • Toyota Proace
    March 27 2018

    Beauty

  • Toyota Proace
    August 14 2017

    Very good!

  • Toyota Proace
    July 05 2017

    Practically cut my fuel bill in half and I still have the space I need to do my job.

  • Toyota Proace
    July 04 2017

    This van drives like a car; enough room for all my tools and looks smart.

  • Toyota Proace
    July 04 2017

    Apart from the breakdown it has been extremely useful to my business.

  • Toyota Proace
    May 30 2017

    Love it as an all round van. Work ,mountain biking, all my needs. Very happy especially with all round doors.

  • Toyota Proace
    April 15 2016

    It's fantastic for my business which is after all why I chose it. However there are a few issues that I have found with it. They have over complicated the Bluetooth function, I'm fairly good with technology but trying to connect my phone was very complicated as were adjusting the time and date settings. There are three front seats but considering the pro ace is marketed towards the construction industry you could never comfortably get three men in the front. Furthermore I would suggest it is potentially dangerous as the handbrake is on the right of the drivers seat there is no gap between the drivers seat and the double front passenger seat. This means when two people are occupying the passenger seats the person next to the driver is so close it impedes the drivers ability to change gear with their left arm and generally makes you feel quite cramped. The van is also quite noisy, general rattles and squeaks, which surprised me as my last van was much quieter. Overall though I am pleased with it and it certainly fulfills its purpose.

  • Toyota Proace
    April 08 2016

    Comes fully kitted out in the cab is much larger than it looks could be a bit sluggish for heavy loads but I carry very little so is perfect and very fuel efficient.

  • Toyota Proace
    April 08 2016

    Only had my Toyota pro-ace just over a month but I love it! I use it to deliver business lunches and catering events - which it is perfect for . It's a really good drive & very comfortable with plenty of space in the cabin. Love the Bluetooth feature and sound quality of the stereo. Could be a bit better on the fuel economy but am only doing shortish runs so guess this is to be expected. Overall I'd say it's a really good van and would recommend it.

  • Toyota Proace
    March 29 2016

    Very good.

  • Toyota Proace
    March 15 2016

    Love it.

  • Toyota Proace
    February 11 2016

    Nice van. I was a little bit disappointed it didn't have reverse parking sensors and the metal bulk head is noisy and vibrates.

  • Toyota Proace
    January 28 2016

    I've only had the van about a month but so far I'm very pleased with what I've got and it does exactly what I require. The thing I'm most pleased about is that I can say when I'm working from it I don't think about it and this lets me get on with my work. I'm very happy with this van and I hope it proves reliable for many years to come.

  • Toyota Proace
    January 13 2016

    Very pleased with the van, it is a little cramped in the front which may bother some people but it is okay for me and it will be an asset to my plumbing and heating business.

Read more reviews