Processing your orders & deliveries right now may be a little slower than usual while we get back up and running after lockdown. We're sorry about this but the good news is that you can now order a brand new vehicle all online! And if you do need to talk to us, we've extended our opening hours to 9pm weekdays and 8pm weekends!

Search for the best van and pickup leasing deals.

Volkswagen Crafter Van Review

5 Stars (16 Reviews)

Latest Reviews

  • Mark Edwards - 22/03/2018

    GOOD

    5 Stars
  • Lukasz Szymanski - 08/03/2018

    It’s the best van l ever have Look and drive perfect

    5 Stars
  • Clive Rose - 16/02/2018

    reliability is I main focus and Volkswagen have proven in the last decade they are at the forefront which in our business keeping vans on the road is very important.Also good looking van which also gives the right impression of your own business when delivering customer goods

    4 Stars
Read more reviews
  • Handling: STARS
  • Comfort: STARS
  • Quality: STARS
  • Reliability: STARS
  • Performance: STARS
  • Practicality: STARS
  • Running Costs: STARS
  • Value for Money: STARS

Expert Review

Volkswagens always make good vans, some of the best available on the market to be exact, and the Volkswagen Crafter Cr35 is no exception to the rule. It is a workhorse van and to that end the designers have given the Volkswagen Crafter a workhorse design.

Storage options in the cab are particularly impressive on the Volkswagen Crafter and this typifies the workhorse ethic in built to the design. As well as the usual door pockets and drink holders, there is a clipboard in the middle of the dash which is there simply to hold the reams of paperwork a driver carries on a day to day basis. To that end the build of the cab is sturdy and tough, and there is a nice logic to the layout.

On the surface the 109bhp seems to be a tad on the weak side to move a capacity 1235kg payload up and down the country, the 280Nm of torque however soon gets the van up to speed and it is at home moving a load briskly along the motorway or from standing still.

Loading features a length of 4300, a width of 1780 narrowing to 1350 at the wheel arches, and a height of 1940. Easily enough space to accommodate large loads or a fair number of Euro pallets, and still have room to carry extra equipment such as tools or more materials as needed. A passenger sliding door assists the rear doors to gain entry to the loading area of the van. The Volkswagen Crafter has several well located lashing points to secure loads that are liable to fly around in the back.

Technologically speaking it is difficult to see what is missing on this van. The Volkswagen Crafter features ABS, electronic brakeforce distribution, and a highly advanced ESP electronic stability control system which all combine to give the driver good control over the vehicle. The driver also benefits from an airbag and adjustable seating.

To drive the Volkswagen Crafter simply does not have an imperfection. No creaks, no roars, and everything feels solid. The steering is a good balance of lightness and weight and though it is a long wheel based vehicle, it can get around city streets as well as traverse the country's motorway network with relative ease.

If a workhorse type van is needed carrying relatively large loads, it is difficult to see beyond the Volkswagen Crafter.

Volkswagen Crafter Van Review is brought to you by our motoring professionals at Vanarama.

Customer reviews

Below are our customer reviews for the Volkswagen Crafter. Want to have your say? Leave a review for the Volkswagen Crafter now.

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    February 08 2018

    only hade to vehicle recently but all ok up to now

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    February 05 2018

    Excellent on all but two counts, it works for me but I feel a lot of users will find the 102 ps underpowered! My only real criticism is that a large van such as this should have fitted reversing sensors or camera from entry level

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    January 29 2018

    Comfortable driving very practical build quality typical German very pleased

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    January 22 2018

    No parking sensors but we can sort this. Understand it's an extra. Great apart from that!

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    January 16 2018

    Like driving a car even though it's a lwb 3.5 tonne van.

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    January 14 2018

    Great van maybe a little under powered.

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    January 03 2018

    Very Good.

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    December 28 2017

    A good looking and enjoyable vehicle to drive , and makes you feel more professional with your business.

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    August 09 2017

    Too soon to asses the performance.

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    February 27 2017

    Great perfect size for my job as a carpet fitter.

  • Volkswagen Volkswagen Crafter
    April 15 2016

    It's a good strong van that does exactly what it's meant to do.

Read more reviews