Due to Covid-19 and a phased return of our workforce and supply chain, our services may be a little slower than normal - apologies for any inconvenience. The good news is that you can build your own quote online on our vehicle pages & we've extended our opening hours to 9pm.

Search for the best van and pickup leasing deals.

Citroen Relay Van Review

5 Stars (63 Reviews)
  • Relay example 1
  • Relay example 2
  • Relay example 3
  • Relay example 4
  • Relay example 5
  • Relay example 6
  • Relay example 7
  • Relay example 8
  • Relay example 9
  • Relay example 10
  • Relay example 11
  • Relay example 12
  • Arctic Steel

  • Carioca Yellow

  • Deep Red Pearlescent

  • Golden White

  • Graphito

  • Imperial Blue

  • Lake Blue

  • Pacific Blue

  • Polar White

  • Tiziano Red

Latest Reviews

  • Phillip Jones - 01/02/2020

    Great van - my next one will be the same again

    5 Stars
  • Graeme Riches - 28/01/2020

    Excellent. Cant comment on such things as reliability yet but everything is fine.

    5 Stars
  • Duncan Worthington - 18/12/2019

    Good van, plenty of room in the back. Lacking cup holders in the cab compared to the boxer.

    4 Stars
Read more reviews
  • Handling: STARS
  • Comfort: STARS
  • Quality: STARS
  • Reliability: STARS
  • Performance: STARS
  • Practicality: STARS
  • Running Costs: STARS
  • Value for Money: STARS

Expert Review

Everything you need to know about the Citroen Relay is right here – this large van is packed with features to make its users lives easier. Vanarama's Tia Richards reports.

The Citroen Relay has been around for well over a decade. You might remember your first sighting of the Relay in 2006, but since then the Relay has benefited from numerous facelifts to its body and engines.

This large van is available as a Tipper, Dropside and Luton and you now have a choice of 3 engine outputs; 110bhp, 130bhp and 160bhp. Oh, and you might have seen this face before because the Citroen Relay platform shares with the Fiat Ducato and Peugeot Boxer.

Here's our review of the current generation L3 H3 Citroen Relay…

Get Familiar With The Front


So, let's start with the front.

The first thing you'll notice are the MASSIVE headlights. To give you an idea of how big they are, I used my arm to measure the size of them. Instead of giving you a number, use the length of your arm – from your elbow to your hand. Yep, they are enormous.

Next up is the beastly grille. Okay, it's not as bold as the grille on the Vauxhall Vivaro Deranged, but it definitely makes a statement. In fact, it's hard not to notice its presence. But is it all for show? The answer is no! The grille is extremely tough-wearing thanks to its chosen attire – a mix of durable plastic and metal.

Placed just above the grille is the familiar Citroen badge. This feature is also enlarged. I'm starting to think that the hulk might have been in mind when Citroen were designing this van…

Before we move onto the features that will tower before you, we thought it might be helpful to mention that Citroen have designed the front using 3 panels. So, if you happen to damage 1 of the panels you can just remove it and replace it, simple. Very clever Citroen (cue the round of applause).

Moving onto the front features that towered over me – the gigantic windscreen and the lengthy aerial. Let's talk about the windscreen; huge, big and gigantic… anyone else know how we can say large? Rest assured that you'll be able to see VERY clearly. And the aerial? Well, admittedly it's not as visually pleasing as a shark head aerial, but it gets the job done. You can listen to all your favourite radio stations.


Back To Basics


Moving onto the cabin.

Look, we're not going to lie to you, the cabin is quite basic. If you're not after a plush cabin with unneeded luxuries like voice control (apologies Mercedes-Benz Sprinter) the Citroen Relay is your van. Not that we have anything against voice control in a van, but is it really necessary? We'll let you decide. Anyway, back to the Relay – here's what to expect when you take a seat in the cabin…

First of all, let's address the elephant in the room – the reoccurring theme of GIGANTIC assets. Have a feel of the steering wheel and cast your eyes on the dashboard, both take centre stage due to their size.

Don't worry, I know we said the cabin is basic, but all models include these features (at no extra cost):

  • DAB radio with Bluetooth
  • Steering wheel controls
  • USB socket
  • Dash clipboard
  • Remote Central Locking
  • Emergency Braking Assistance
  • Electronic Stability Control
  • Immobiliser
  • ABS

BUT, if you want a little bit of luxury you'll have to pay extra for these features, also known as the 'Enterprise' model:

  • Air Conditioning
  • Cruise Control
  • Rear Parking Sensors
  • Touch screen infotainment system

If you fancy upping your game when it comes to the cabin it will cost you, but nothing in life is free – nope not even aircon. But don't worry if you can't fork out for the features above, I mean, air con isn't a necessity when you live in the UK.

Next up is storage in the cabin and there's LOADS of it. There are 2 gloveboxes, 1 is lockable and will hold a laptop or tablet or both, at the same time – disclaimer alert, this has not been tried and tested, do so at your own risk. Look on the dashboard and you'll see more storage – a shelf and cubbies. Watch our mini review here to see how spacious the Citroen Relay is.

 

 

The only fault we can point out is the placement of the handbrake. So, you're in the driving seat, look to your right and BOOM there it is, strange?

It's RELAY Roomy


Yep, you read that right – this van is RELAY roomy. I know I promised I wouldn't use the pun again, but I couldn't resist – last time, promise.

You might be surprised to hear this (not), but the loading bay is VERY big. Our tried and tested L3 H3 panel van model can carry an impressive 1500kg in the back, measures to a whopping 3705mm in length and is 2172mm tall.

If you need to carry a bulkier load, opt for the L4 H3 model – it can hold a 1995kg maximum payload. In fact, now would be a good time to tell you that the Citroen Relay is available in 4 lengths; 4963mm to 6363mm and 3 heights from 2254mm to 2764mm.

Right enough bragging about the size of this…. van. Take a look around the cargo bed and you'll find plenty of lashing points and extra storage space above the bulkhead. Oh, and you might have noticed the ply-lined interior in the back, guess what? It won't cost you a penny when you lease a van with us! Check out our range overview video to find out more:


You're Driving

Got your seatbelt on? Let's go for a drive…

Picture this – you're in the driving seat of a 2-litre BlueHDi, 6-speed manual Citroen Relay. I know what you're thinking – it doesn't sound as glamourous as an ad for a holiday resort, but it's close enough, right?

Let's talk about the 2-litre BlueHDi diesel engine, which are the heart of all Relay's. 2 words; powerful and economical. Despite the size of this VERY large van, you might be surprised to hear that it's light on its feet and it's certainly packing a punch when it comes to speed. Need to pick up the pace? Need to slow down? Either way, when you change gears this Relay responds without hesitation.

This van also has no trouble snaking in and out of sharp turns. Surprised? Yep, we were too. It's hard to find a van of this size with a very responsive turning circle.

And visibility? Well, you can see EVERYTHING! We mentioned the windscreen earlier and we weren't joking when we said it was big. You know when you go to the cinema and everything is enlarged because the screen is massive? Yeah, lets use that as a comparison to the colossal windscreen.

Here's more good news…

If our tried and tested 130bhp Relay isn't tickling your fancy, this van is not only available in different dimensions, but you can also choose from these engine outputs; 110bhp and 160bhp.

Honesty Is The Best Policy

Look, if you're looking for a van that's kitted with the latest tech and a lavish cabin, you're not going to find it in the Citroen Relay. But, it's not all doom and gloom. The cabin might be basic, but it makes up for it in load space and its HUGE windscreen. This van is all about function, choose the Citroen Relay if you want to get the job done.

 

Customer reviews

Below are our customer reviews for the Citroen Relay. Want to have your say? Leave a review for the Citroen Relay now.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    December 09 2019

    It’s a good van

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    November 26 2019

    Good choice of vehicle, plenty of room. Great for transporting pallets too.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    September 18 2019

    Does what it say on the tin!

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    August 27 2019

    so far so good

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    August 02 2019

    It's a good truck

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    August 02 2019

    We have 7 vw transporters. Disappointed in the finish of certain parts in cab.. some items look to be not installed correctly

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    May 10 2019

    it works for us

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    April 30 2019

    I lovely comfortable and spacious than I’ve previously had one before so I’m very happy

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    April 30 2019

    Good work van

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    April 26 2019

    Good all round vehicle

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    April 18 2019

    Very impressive vehicle. Big load space. Perfect for my line of business.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    August 31 2018

    Perfect

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    August 23 2018

    We have a number of these now and very pleased!

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    May 03 2018

    Lovely van.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    March 15 2018

    good size gets the job done

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    February 08 2018

    Good solid workhorse and early indications confirm I made correct choice

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    February 01 2018

    Perfect for what we needed, great value for money

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    January 15 2018

    Great value for money.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    December 27 2017

    We had an initial gearbox issue within the first two weeks of the lease starting.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    December 06 2017

    Slightly worried about the length of the contract in terms of whether the van will be reliable enough to see out the term.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    November 13 2017

    I can stand up in the back. I'm 6'3" and I don't need to bend. It's brilliant. Starts all the time. It's a van and it does what it says on the tin. I would have another in a heartbeat. It has all the gadgets I need in particular the phone connection and the air con. Yes I live in Cumbria but it still gets warm up here.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    July 06 2017

    Love it!

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    April 21 2017

    Good for plumbing.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    April 20 2017

    Over the moon with van. Wish I had changed before it is so good runs very well I am so pleased with it a pleasure to do long journeys in I could not ask any more of it. Would recommend it all day long.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    December 30 2016

    Excellent Van.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    December 01 2016

    Superb especially the extra height which makes such a difference to the work we do it is a life saver. The load capacity is brilliant and I would never go back to ford. The value for money makes such a difference compared to ford and Mercedes.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    September 28 2016

    Nice van, plenty of space and good spec. Plenty of power with reasonable economy. A bit flimsy in places, but it is a Citroen and not in the same price bracket as the German vans, so this was expected.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    August 25 2016

    All you need.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    July 20 2016

    For a van I thought the amount of extras was outstanding, better than most cars.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    June 07 2016

    Good reliable van, had a problem with soft hinges but I got this fixed with Citreon.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    May 16 2016

    Early days yet but it seems like a nice van.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    March 22 2016

    Fit for purpose!

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    February 29 2016

    Great van, almost free motoring at Vanarama prices.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    February 17 2016

    We had a Ford before which was a lot more money. It's only early days yet but so far so good and you do get a much better spec for your money. Our driver says he loves it. Regards, Martin.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    January 15 2016

    Very nice van to drive the lights in the rear aren't great only stay on for a few minutes then go off and if you press the unlock button they only come back on for a few seconds so a pain this time of the year the load length isn't what I told it says it's a 4.07m load length true but the usable length is more like 3.96m but I can still fit my carpets in

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    November 27 2015

    Comfortable great load space drives well. Alll round I'm very happy.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    November 20 2015

    The relay is a very good value for money van which is ideal for the work I do in it which is parcel delivery.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    November 12 2015

    A good sized practical van. Reasonably fitted out although in-built satnav would have been preferred. Only done 1200 miles but first impressions are very positive.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    October 19 2015

    The satnav could of been built into the touch screen radio control as well as the reversing camera.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    September 29 2015

    Really good value for money , it meets my every need and accommodates my load with space to spare

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    June 15 2015

    All round excellent.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    June 04 2015

    Excellent vehicle providing good head room when organising and stacking tools and equipment. It accommodates sheets of plasterboard and boxes of beads etc required for my business.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    May 26 2015

    Love it.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    March 06 2015

    Just received it today. Very happy with it.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    February 06 2015

    Very nice

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    January 29 2015

    I've given 4 stars to all the questions as I've only recieved the van today. First impressions are great.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    January 29 2015

    A well priced work vehicle that looks good. It drives well and cab finish and spec is extremely good.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    January 19 2015

    Early days, but it seems to do what we expected and what we want.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    November 04 2014

    I will have a more precise opinion in later months of the vehicle, but in the last few days I am really happy. French styling powered by Ford which in my eyes is a positive.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    October 15 2014

    Much nicer than my old Sprinter.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    September 11 2014

    Very happy.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    August 26 2014

    The van is great value for money.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    August 18 2014

    Too early to tell (maybe ask me in 3 months).

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    May 22 2014

    Excellent for the load capacity we require.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    May 13 2014

    Excellent overall quality. Perfect for my needs as a courier.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    May 08 2014

    Nice all round working van . nothing too fancy but still offers an element of luxury that makes the driving experience very pleasant

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    April 16 2014

    OK

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    March 07 2014

    The van is perfect for my needs as a van courier. Overall I feel I have got a good deal from Vanarama.

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    August 28 2013

    Great van very good driving experience great turning circle cavernous interior really good features can recommend to anybody . Gears and gear change a little difficult at first due mainly to the bias to the lower range when changing gear

  • Citroen Relay 35 L4 Diesel
    June 11 2013

    For the price we got the van, at the moment I can't fault it, first impressions are very good.

Read more reviews