Processing your orders & deliveries right now may be a little slower than usual while we get back up and running after lockdown. We're sorry about this but the good news is that you can now order a brand new vehicle all online! And if you do need to talk to us, we've extended our opening hours to 9pm weekdays and 8pm weekends!

Search for the best van and pickup leasing deals.

Ford Transit Van Review

5 Stars (102 Reviews)
  • Transit example 1
  • Transit example 2
  • Transit example 3
  • Transit example 4
  • Transit example 5
  • Transit example 6
  • Transit example 7
  • Transit example 8
  • Transit example 9
  • Transit example 10
  • Transit example 11
  • Transit example 12
  • Blazer Blue

  • Deep Impact Blue

  • Frozen White

  • Lunar Sky

  • Magnetic

  • Moondust Silver

  • Race Red

  • Shadow Black

  • Stratosphere

  • Tectonic Silver

Latest Reviews

  • Toby Wall - 14/07/2020

    Only down fall is they should all have A/C as standard.

    5 Stars
  • Parj Sandhu - 16/06/2020

    Comfortable van with good loading space

    5 Stars
  • Pam Williams - 14/04/2020

    OUR DRIVER IS VERY PLEASED WITH THE TRUCK

    5 Stars
Read more reviews
  • Handling: STARS
  • Comfort: STARS
  • Quality: STARS
  • Reliability: STARS
  • Performance: STARS
  • Practicality: STARS
  • Running Costs: STARS
  • Value for Money: STARS

Expert Review

Ford Transit Review 2019: Say hello to Ford's BIGGEST van!

Fancy a Ford Transit? Keep reading if you want to know what this large van is all about. Vanarama's Tia Richards reports.

The Ford Transit is king when it comes to Ford's range of vans, for the obvious reason – it's the largest. But, here's an interesting fact – if you hadn't noticed, all of Ford's light commercial vehicles inherit 'Transit' in their vehicle titles. Let's introduce you to a handful of members from the Ford Transit range- The small but spacious Ford Transit Connect, the must-have medium Ford Transit Custom, the compact Ford Transit Courier and more.

Let's throw another fact your way – Transit is often used to describe any large van, even if isn't armed with the Ford badge.

And now for a history lesson…

The Transit was first released in 1965 and frankly, looked more like a campervan and not an LCV. Since then, the Transit has had several makeovers and let's just say the current gen looks more visually pleasing. Previous designs didn't complement this vans figure, but even when it didn't look its best it was still a favourite.

And it's still VERY popular today. The current-gen Ford Transit currently ranks as the 2nd best-selling van in the UK. In June this year, the UK sold 3,407 Ford Transit's. Let's say we sold the same amount each month for the rest of the year… (short pause for a bit of mental maths) a whopping 20442 Transit's would be traded!

The new Ford Transit is available as a single or double cab and you'll also have the option of 3 load lengths (L2, L3 and L4) and 2 roof heights (H2, H3). And all Transit's have a 2-litre EcoBlue engine.

Here's everything you need to know about the L4H3 Ford Transit…

Size Matters: It's Gigantic!

First thoughts? Erm it's HUGE! I know we made a point of the

Citroen Relay being a VERY large van, but the Transit is definitely bigger.

Apart from the sheer size of this van, you'll also be drawn to the enormous grille and enlarged Ford badge. Both take centre stage when you take your first glimpse. So, let's talk more about the grille, well it's big, there's no denying that and it certainly gives the grille on the Relay a run for its money. You're probably drawn to this feature first due to its striking design – the grille is sectioned into 3 partitions edged in silver. And the Ford badge? Well it's the one you know and love, it's just larger.

Next up is the handy step located just below the grille. Random I know, but it does have its uses, here's a list of what it could be used for…

  1. To clean your windscreen or bonnet.

  2. Erm… that's about it really?

Okay, so it's not really necessary, but it's there and if you find any other uses for it let us know.

Seeing as we talk about the headlights in every other review, lets not leave this one out. On previous transit designs (1965-2000) the headlights were very boxy, but now the headlights are sleeker and sharper in their design. I can't be the only one who thinks the new design resembles an application of eyeliner? See the sharp flick at the ends of each headlight cluster?

Moving on… here's the last feature on the front. The wing mirrors – not very exciting I know but we're giving them a shout out because of their clever design. First of all, the indicators are built in, as standard so you'll have that extra piece of mind you'll be seen. Oh, and the wingmirrors are split in half, so you can see even more of the road behind you. Thanks Ford.

Storage and Practicality

Now let's check out the cabin.

Up first is the amount of storage you'll find in this van, there's LOADS of it. You'll find lots of cupholders, in fact this van holds the title for having the most when lined up against other vans of its size. You'll also get storage here too:

  • Stowage located under the passenger's seat. Simply lift the seat up and BOOM, more storage space. Oh, and while you're here, if you pull down the passenger's seat there's a fold out table, which you can use to store paperwork or an iPad or laptop.

  • Storage pockets set into the side of each door.

  • Look behind the steering wheel and there's even MORE room. Lift up the lid and there's space for anything that's about the size of an A4 piece of paper.

  • Got a bit of spare change? No problem, pop it in the smallest storage bin next to the steering wheel.

  • And if this isn't enough, you'll find space on the top and bottom of the dashboard on the passenger's side, including a lockable glovebox. There are overhead storage compartments too.

Like we said, there's so much storage!

What about the rest of the cabin? Take a first look and you'll judge the infotainment system as basic, which it is, but it gets the job done. It looks very dated and it doesn't have an infotainment screen, all it has is a tiny display that's illuminated in a very bright blue colour and a few buttons. But, before you turn your nose up, amazingly the infotainment system (Base level) includes Bluetooth, USB and iPod connectivity which means you'll get hands free as standard.

You know what they say – don't judge a book by its cover because looks can be very deceiving…

If you fancy opting for the let's say 'better' trim (Trend), you'll get a few more features; cruise control with speed limiter and a few more buttons on the steering wheel. But both trim levels prove that comfort is king – they both include an 8-way adjustable driver's seat.

Load Space: Loads Of Room In The Back

Our tried and tested L4H3 model is the largest Ford Transit you can get. You know what they say… bigger the better… when it comes to the loading bay! (obviously).

The Ford Transit is available in 3 lengths – L2, L3 and L4. And, you'll get to choose from 2 roof heights – H2 and H3. You also get a choice of a single cab or double cab. What will you pick?

Our reviewed model has a max payload of 1,100kg, pretty impressive, but most people opt for the L3 H3 variant because it can carry even heavier load volumes. Plus you'll get 2m of height, 4m in length and just under 1.8m (1.4m between wheel arches) of width in the loading bay. If you're wondering how many euro pallets you can fit in the back, 5 is the magic number!

How It Drives: Let's Go For A Spin

Ready, set, GO! Let's take this van for a drive- we did, and it did not disappoint.

This 2.0-litre, 6-speed, manual, EcoBlue 130PS diesel engine was raring to go when we got it on the road.

Not tickling your fancy? You'll also get the choice of 2 more engine variants: 105PS and 170PS. And if you don't want the manual model, go for the automatic.

Now let's talk about what it's like to drive.

Let's start with the massive windscreen. When you're driving this van, you can see absolutely everything with maximum driver visibility.

What about headroom? I don't think you can get a van with a roomier cabin than this one. Take a seat behind the wheel and you'll feel how spacious it is.

Wondering how it handles the road? This van is HUGE, but when you're in the driving seat it feels very light on its feet.

The Verdict

Let's wrap this up. It's no surprise that the Ford Transit is an all-time favourite. It's stayed firmly in top place when it comes to large vans, it just won't budge (sorry to the large van latter). Not only is it extremely economical, it looks great and there's LOADS of room in the back. You need to consider this large van.

Customer reviews

Below are our customer reviews for the Ford Transit. Want to have your say? Leave a review for the Ford Transit now.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 22 2020

    Excellent, versatile vehicle

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 13 2020

    Very good van

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    December 12 2019

    It’s a very nice, comfy vehicle. It's like driving a modern car.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 05 2019

    Only had it 2 weeks - ok at the moment

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    October 07 2019

    Can't fault the service from Vanarama.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    September 12 2019

    Good vehicle and strong workhorse

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    September 04 2019

    A very smart van. Extremely comfortable and a pleasure to drive.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    August 08 2019

    Great vehicle to replace our old Transit Tipper "Trigger" which lasted many years.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 19 2019

    Great vehicle for what I need

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 11 2019

    Fab

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    June 18 2019

    .

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    April 09 2019

    good so far but only been a week!

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    March 20 2019

    in the short time we have had our Transit its been the best so far compered to other vans we have owned.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    March 19 2019

    It does what I need it to do.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    March 09 2019

    It's perfect but I was disappointed that it didn't had sensors on the van

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    March 04 2019

    You're seriously asking me to review the van I've had 3 days?

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 16 2019

    Great vehicle - perfect for our business needs

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    December 04 2018

    Fantastic

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 30 2018

    There is an issue with the rubber seal on the drivers side,the rubber doesn’t seal the door correctly. Also I was lead to believe I would be receiving £165 back into my bank and not the £33 I received?

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 16 2018

    Ford best working truck on the road

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 12 2018

    Excellent van

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    October 16 2018

    So far it’s great lovely to drive surprised with the features

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    September 18 2018

    Very good

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    August 04 2018

    Great van and great design for the user

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 25 2018

    Love it. Initially I had decided on a Citroen van. So glad I went for the Ford Transit. Only slightly disappointed in lack of extras. Then again, Ford have always been a bit mean like that.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 12 2018

    Very impressed so far

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    April 17 2018

    Perfect vehicle for what we need it for, easy to drive and manoeuvre

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    April 06 2018

    Over all great van!

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    March 27 2018

    It’s really good to drive and looks fantastic now I’ve got my company name on it should have done it years ago

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    October 25 2017

    Great vehicle, does exactly what we need.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    May 05 2017

    Good vehicle that suits our business needs.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    March 02 2017

    Cant complain. Perhaps a slightly larger diameter steering wheel.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 21 2017

    Very good.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    December 01 2016

    Great van. The only thing I don't like is the indicators on the mirrors as very vulnerable place to have them.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 08 2016

    Very Nice truck, would have liked the next one up from the basic cab.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    October 10 2016

    I love the van, it drives like a car. The cab it's designed to give the driver great comfort, I love it. Over all, a lovely motor.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 20 2016

    1st class.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 15 2016

    Lovely van, just what I wanted.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 04 2016

    Good all-round vehicle, does everything I want.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 01 2016

    Pretty good all round, drives like a car, blue-tooth for phone works well and the seats are comfy. Could do with over mats as I'm in the building trade and can get a bit grubby at times, other than that very good.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    June 21 2016

    Smaller than expected, compact, easy to use.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    June 13 2016

    This van is much more comfortable to drive than the previous model and sounds so quiet although it doesn't seem to have as much power as our previous one. But as usual you can't go wrong with a trusty Ford Transit!!

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    June 13 2016

    Van is lovely.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    June 07 2016

    A great workhorse.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    March 24 2016

    Good work horse and easy to drive.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    March 22 2016

    Best in class.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 25 2016

    I've had my transit just over a year now with no problems at all. It's reliable and does everything I need it to do, I would highly recommend this van.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 25 2016

    Nice van, steering's a bit creaky at the moment but that's what the warranty's for! I don't know if it's a common thing. Overall far superior than other vans we've had on our fleet. So far so good.... It's a transit , say no more!

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 25 2016

    The van is large enough to carry our machinery around and is very comfortable, the only thing I need to add is rear sensors. Very Satisfied.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 25 2016

    The new style of the van is much more pleasing to the eye as most of my clients comment on how nice it looks. It's also much quieter than the old one and more powerful, all in all a very good van.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 25 2016

    This van is the best van I have driven.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 25 2016

    I use this vehicle for delivering goods, I've had it for 5 months, the media package is brilliant as is the space in the loading area. As for handling, the gearbox can temperamental, the seat doesn't go very high and the steering lock is terrible. Good storage space in the cab, I had a sprinter before this and if I could afford it I would have another one.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 22 2016

    Best choice, perfect for business, plenty of standing space and room for all my built in racking (designed not to be bolted to bodywork), professional service from Vanarama and their staff.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 17 2016

    Use it for site services, we've had it 9 months now and it is very reliable. The van drives very well but the engine is not quite powerful enough when fully loaded. The trend has a lot of extras, which is nice. The running costs are not too bad, I would say average. The height is an advantage, very easy to get in and out with tools and our equipment.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 11 2016

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 08 2016

    Always used the Ford Transit, it has never let me down so why change.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 05 2016

    Very nice to drive with great features & a larger space than the L2 H2 transit we owned previously.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 05 2016

    Brilliant van, could just do with center body tie on points, apart from that a great van!!! Well happy.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 04 2016

    Drives like a car and so quiet.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 29 2016

    Very good.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 28 2016

    Excellent choice.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 28 2016

    Only had the van a week but it's a massive improvement over the old transit.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 22 2016

    Excellent service as always.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 21 2016

    Seems a good van but we have only had it 2 weeks, maybe ask in 6 months.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 15 2016

    Perfect for what I need, looks very professional.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 27 2015

    Very happy with the new transit it does what I need it to.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 20 2015

    Bit slow van. Not very stable in heavy wind, probably because of large size and low weight. But is only a van. Bit surprised that there is no mud protection above wheels, in winter time, salt on the road will damage metal protection coatings. But I don't think this van will last this long before it starts to rust.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 16 2015

    Excellent. Just like driving a car!

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    October 28 2015

    Rear springs are very weak with just 2 leaf springs, 1/2 tonne and they bend the other way. Indicators in the wing mirrors, expensive if they are hit by another vehicle. More space inside for tools etc. No CD player, gutted really. Drives really well.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    October 23 2015

    x

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    September 30 2015

    Great value

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    September 29 2015

    Excellent tipper (although much bigger than previous models) seems to be perfect for what I need!

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    September 24 2015

    I think it's really great to drive, just like driving a car. It's light years in difference to my previous transit, just a delight to use.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    September 22 2015

    wouldt i paid for the van, that floor matts and covers would have come as stantard

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    September 11 2015

    A little under powered to what I'm used to. Not as comfortable as the Citroen Relay truck.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    August 24 2015

    The new Transit is a nice looking practical van. Only thing to mention is that it is a bit bouncy at the front when driven.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    August 19 2015

    Much improvement over the older version, from ride handling to comfort. It's just like driving a car. Phone integration works very well.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    August 12 2015

    A very well equipped and stylish van. Smaller cab, but big in loading area.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 24 2015

    Very pleased, superb new interior, love new toolbox under seat, good radio and reliable Bluetooth, handles well, good at top end, only concern is rattling noise coming from under driver's seat upon acceleration especially when engine cold.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 20 2015

    Great vehicle, great drive. Great value.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 01 2015

    Excellent van. Does the job well.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    June 29 2015

    It is a good product, except for the fact it developed an electrical fault after only five days of use (not your fault). Ford took ten days to correct this.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    June 22 2015

    Very pleased with the van. Really nice to drive and ticks all the boxes for my work requirements.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 16 2015

    Very nice and dry. Happy with the vehicle.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    February 04 2015

    So far so good, but only had the vehicle a day!

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 29 2015

    What an improvement on the old style transit

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    January 08 2015

    Seems great, only had it a couple of days though.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    December 16 2014

    Perfect van for my job.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    December 08 2014

    Brilliant

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 24 2014

    A great improvement on the previous model.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    November 24 2014

    I really love this van. The only downside is the fuel consumption, which from a full tank I thought would be about 420 miles. In fact I'm only getting around 330 miles, which for a new van I think is really poor.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    September 11 2014

    Mint, people were coming over after 2 hours and asking about it and where I got it.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    August 18 2014

    Nice van for our company, thanks.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 08 2014

    It's big!

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 04 2014

    Very good.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    July 04 2014

    Only had a day but so far great

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    June 27 2014

    Surprisingly good.

  • Ford Transit 350 L3 Diesel Rwd
    May 22 2014

    Perfect.

Read more reviews