Processing your orders & deliveries right now may be a little slower than usual while we get back up and running after lockdown. We're sorry about this but the good news is that you can now order a brand new vehicle all online! And if you do need to talk to us, we've extended our opening hours to 9pm every day!

Search for the best van and pickup leasing deals.

Mercedes-Benz Sprinter Van Review

5 Stars (32 Reviews)
  • Sprinter example 1
  • Sprinter example 2
  • Sprinter example 3
  • Sprinter example 4
  • Sprinter example 5
  • Sprinter example 6
  • Sprinter example 7
  • Sprinter example 8
  • Sprinter example 9
  • Sprinter example 10
  • Sprinter example 11
  • Sprinter example 12
  • Sprinter example 13
  • Arctic White

  • Silver Metallic

  • Pebble Grey

  • Blue Grey

Latest Reviews

  • Lee Mcevilly - 20/07/2020

    These vans are the best on the road FACT

    5 Stars
  • Andrew Hatfield - 21/04/2020

    I have driven most vans in 6 years of weekly hiring from Enterprise and Sixt, VW / Ford / Renault / Vauxhall / Citroen and the Sprinter is head and shoulders above for quality ( VW in 2nd place and Ford in 3rd )

    5 Stars
  • Andrew James Newell - 25/11/2019

    Very good

    5 Stars
Read more reviews
  • Handling: STARS
  • Comfort: STARS
  • Quality: STARS
  • Reliability: STARS
  • Performance: STARS
  • Practicality: STARS
  • Running Costs: STARS
  • Value for Money: STARS

Expert Review

The Mercedes-Benz Sprinter finishes first place when it comes to the big-van race (and it's even more affordable on a lease). But you're probably wondering exactly why it's a winner... Vanarama's Tia Richards reports.

A backend that can carry a bulky payload, tech-defying trim, versatility and it drives like a dream! Can we just take a minute to give Mercedes-Benz a MASSIVE round of applause for creating a truly brilliant van?

Mercedes Sprinter Gets Top Marks For Tech

Now, Mercedes really have gone all out when it comes to the Sprinter's tech spec and it really puts other vans on its par to shame.

There is no way you will be disappointed. How could you be when it speaks to you? Seriously! The conversation starts with you saying, "hey Mercedes" and the response (composed in a very delicate but assertive tone) is "how can I help?" So, it's not the longest conversation you'll ever hold but it gets the job done.

The voice control system is part of Mercedes-Benz's MBUX technology set (Mercedes-Benz user experience) and it is DEFINITELY an experience, it's like something you would see on Back to the Future. Mercedes even label it as 'state-of-the-art', which it certainly is.

It gets better. The MBUX tech kits you out with a 7" infotainment touch-screen, but this isn't any ordinary display, there's a built-in web browser. Which by the way you should only use when parked! I know, I bet you're thinking is there anything the Sprinter doesn't have... it doesn't feel like it. Mercedes has even put your entire driver handbook into the 7" screen, but if you're not happy with that you still get the bulky book for your service stamps.

 

Other futuristic features include:

  • Keyless start - they're not the first to have it and they won't be the last, but the point is there's no keys needed.
  • Push-of-a-button breakdown assistance – which can easily be mistaken for the cabin light (this happened to us).
  • Multi-function steering wheel, kitted out with buttons to control EVERYTHING in the cabin.

So, think of the Sprinter as a sea captain and other large vans as the sailors being made to walk the plank. Who would you want to be?


A Huge Loadspace

The load space in the Mercedes Sprinter isn't bad either, actually its great and... how shall we put it... BIG! Want to know how big? The L3H2 version we reviewed measures in at over 4 meters in length and 1.7 meters in width!

If you're like me and you're not familiar with metres and whatever else numerical then let me give you a more realistic idea of how enormous the Sprinter is. So, if it's over 4 metres in length and 1.7 metres in width then you can fit two super king size beds in its load space!

If you don't need a payload as big as this one, the Sprinter has three more sizes you can choose from. Ranking from smallest to biggest - L1 (short), L2 (medium), L3 (long) and the biggest being L4 (extra-long). There's a range of roof heights to: H1 (standard) H2 (high) and H3 (super-high).

Oh, and going on with the theme of bedroom, it's important to point out that you can decorate the load space of the Sprinter as if it were your boudoir. But maybe not so much fabric and paint, think more roof racks and ply-lining. Additional interior accessories for the cargo bed are:

  • LED light strips
  • Lashing rail system
  • Wall anchoring system
  • Rachet and restraint belts
  • Multifunction storage box

Right, so the backend is brilliant but what's it like to drive?

Driving Experience

Grab your jacket, were going for a drive in the Mercedes Sprinter.

Let's go with our tried and tested 6-speed manual model which revs up to 112bhp. The Sprinter takes to the road like a duck in water, and its weighty body doesn't prove to hold it back. In fact, it feels more like you're driving a car than a large van. Its pulling power is seamless when you change gear, and its engine is softly spoken.

And, when you're in the driving seat it's like you're in a translucent glass box, its massive windows with minimal trim mean there's visibility everywhere. The large door mirrors help accommodate the range of road too.

The only thing we can criticise is the size of the cupholders, they are ridiculously small. Oh, and one other thing, the suspension, its slightly spongey, but it's bound to be if there's no load, you're just throwing around empty weight?

But the good news is that this 3.5t van has three more engine outputs, 143bhp, 163bhp and 190bhp. And, if you don't want a manual gearbox there's automatic.

There's no question about it the Sprinter is big, so its going to have a bigger engine. Automatically you think bigger the engine bigger the emissions. Well worry no more, its EURO 6 engines mean emissions are reduced.

Mercedes really do think of everything.


Our Verdict

The Mercedes-Benz Sprinter runs past its contenders in the large van race, there's no wonder it's called the Sprinter. From the bonnet to the backend it's an all-round winner. We think Mercedes have created a truly impressive van that is first to the finish line when it comes to its tech and dimension spec.

Customer reviews

Below are our customer reviews for the Mercedes-Benz Sprinter. Want to have your say? Leave a review for the Mercedes-Benz Sprinter now.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    November 25 2019

    Seems a little under-powered but excellent build quality and the body is superb.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    August 27 2019

    Fits perfectly for all our needs.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    August 09 2019

    The Mercedes Sprinter van is bullet proof. I have used many of these vehicles over the years and have always been impressed with their performance. Having looked at various other options, the Mercedes-benz was the only vehicle I was interested in pursuing.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    May 10 2019

    very suprised at how nice they are inside vs the older models, we have used them for 10 years and would alwasy choose a sprinter over 90% of other vans.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    March 26 2019

    A very nice van

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    March 01 2019

    Outstanding van

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    March 01 2019

    Outstanding van

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    February 11 2019

    Great van so many new features

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    January 14 2019

    Fantastic

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    May 04 2018

    Its a lovely drive our driver says.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    April 25 2018

    Fantastic plenty of room in back for my work

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    April 23 2018

    For safety reasons I believe that a reversing camera should be fitted as standard

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    January 29 2018

    Good reliable vehicle, could have more creature comforts in the cab and load height is a bit higher then other vehicles we have so makes the internal height smaller.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    July 31 2017

    All round very good. Well impressed. It does everything you ask of it and more.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    May 31 2017

    No better Vehicle on the market for the Courier game. Not the cheapest but the best never is. If you buy cheap you get cheap.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    January 24 2017

    Reliable overall performance.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    December 07 2016

    It's the best van on the road, its built to last and will drive just as good when its 5 years old with 100000 miles on it. It's very comfy and makes work a pleasure.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    June 22 2016

    Mercedes are strong but a lot more expensive than the Volkswagen equivalent but Volkswagen are prone to gearbox issues.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    May 03 2016

    Great van, this is the second Sprinter used within the company. I wouldn't buy anything else.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    February 29 2016

    Too early to comment on reliability but a good spec for a low price and feels good to drive.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    February 18 2016

    We've been using these vans since 2005 and never been let down by one!

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    February 03 2016

    Very nice van, very big and comfortable.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    January 13 2016

    Absolutely love it! What a van and a lot cheaper than I had been quoted from other firms.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    November 13 2015

    The Mercedes is as expected, excellent. It is far more comfortable vehicle to drive than the Transit and handles exceptionally well. It's almost like driving my CLS :-)

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    November 13 2015

    Classy option.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    November 04 2015

    Excellent

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    July 13 2015

    Very good looking van. The van has been sign written and is a good advert for my business.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    January 09 2015

    We only took delivery 4 hours before receiving this survey, so unable to comment on the new vehicle. However we already have 2 in the fleet so hope it performs as good as these.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    October 15 2014

    Does everything we want it to. Good build quality.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    September 25 2014

    Briliant, a dream come true.

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    March 28 2014

    It's fit for purpose !

  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter
    November 14 2013

    Cheaper to lease and hopefully service is much better than Volkswagen .

Read more reviews