Processing your orders & deliveries right now may be a little slower than usual while we get back up and running after lockdown. We're sorry about this but the good news is that you can now order a brand new vehicle all online! And if you do need to talk to us, we've extended our opening hours to 9pm every day!

Search for the best van and pickup leasing deals.

Peugeot Boxer Van Review

5 Stars (87 Reviews)
  • Boxer example 1
  • Boxer example 2
  • Boxer example 3
  • Boxer example 4
  • Boxer example 5
  • Boxer example 6
  • Boxer example 7
  • Boxer example 8
  • Boxer example 9
  • Boxer example 10
  • Boxer example 11
  • Boxer example 12
  • Boxer example 13
  • Boxer example 14
  • Boxer example 15
  • Boxer example 16
  • Ruby Red

  • Aluminium

  • Clipper Blue

Latest Reviews

  • Iraj Saedi - 02/08/2019

    very good van

    5 Stars
  • Chris Gunby - 12/07/2019

    We love it hence a repeat order

    5 Stars
  • Ryan Hopley - 13/02/2019

    very good for what we require in electrical wholesale at rmo

    5 Stars
Read more reviews
  • Handling: STARS
  • Comfort: STARS
  • Quality: STARS
  • Reliability: STARS
  • Performance: STARS
  • Practicality: STARS
  • Running Costs: STARS
  • Value for Money: STARS

Expert Review

Today I'm reviewing the Peugeot Boxer at the professional trim level. This trim means a lot more comfort in the cabin to go with all of that power under the bonnet. The first thing you may notice about this van is that it looks incredibly similar to the Citroen Relay. However, our Vanarama road test is going to show you that this van is, in fact, a completely different kettle of fish - (in a way)!

 

Exterior & Style

Let's get started where we always do - at the front. As I mentioned, it's quite familiar - the Citroen Relay and the Peugeot Boxer do look very alike, but that's because they platform share. The major difference is obviously the big Peugeot badge right at the front and the fact it has its name written on the top of the grill. This is also a new grill, specifically built for the Boxer. It sits on this 3-part front end which, as we discussed in the Citroen Relay review, is built like this to save you money. How does it do that, you ask? Well, if you damage one of the panels, you don't need to take the whole front of the vehicle off, you can just replace that one damaged panel. Neat!

I have to say, I do like the front end of this vehicle -  the platform is very tough and durable and allows easy mounting of things like the headlight clusters. The big, bright halogen bulbs give you excellent visibility and I love how they sweep around the vehicle and go up to that little point - a nice feature from Peugeot.

The next thing you notice about this vehicle is the set of big, steely wheels - also very tough and durable which is definitely a running theme here! And nowhere is this durability more prevalent than on the wing mirrors made of tough black plastic and housing electrically adjustable indicators that are set into the sides.

When you take a step back, you can truly take in the scale of this vehicle. Whilst it's a large van, it's actually a little bit shorter than you'd expect. That's  because it's an L3 H2 version, which means it's just under the highest version and just a little bit shorter than the longest version. This is actually the kind of size that most tradespeople prefer, because a shorter vehicle means a higher payload!

 

Inside The Peugeot Boxer

Peugeot Boxer Cabin

 

Stepping inside the Boxer and my first impressions are that all that tough durability from outside has been extended inside too. There's a lot of very tough, black plastic and the durable fabric all across the cabin. There's also some colour in here - a little bit of red and blue adds personality and breaks up the normal monotone interior.

So let's start at the steering wheel and yes, you've guessed it, it's tough and durable! Made from black plastic again, it has some basic controls on either side including your phone controls on the right hand side and your volume and voice controls on the left. There's great grip on the wheel too - I don't think that's going to be slipping out of your hands if you try to take a very tight corner. Behind the wheel, you've got some stalks including cruise control and your speed limiter. All very handy and easy to use.

Looking through the steering wheel, you'll find a very clear, basic dashboard which has a nice big driver information display in the middle. It uses simple orange text on a black background which makes it very clear and includes everything you'd expect to see.

 

Boxer Steering Wheel

 

One of my favourite features of this series of vans is the clipboard that pops out at the top of the infotainment system. This is a great feature if you've got some directions or you've got a digital device which you can have running whilst you're driving. Or, if you've got some order forms, you can just shove them in there and they won't be going anywhere. I like how it pops in and out and then sits back down flush on top of the radio - another nice touch.

Just below this, you'll notice a slot for a CD! How very '90s -  it's very cool and very kitsch to have something like that in here. On the display there's also a TFT touchscreen where you can access all sorts of stuff. The Peugeot system is quite basic but it's very functional. Features include a radio, media and satellite navigation. You can also hook up your phone by USB or bluetooth, which is always handy.

Below this section you've got your defrost button and your climate controls. You can control fan speed, temperature, direction of airflow and how it's flowing - whether it's being circulated or it's just coming straight in. Below that you've got your hazard light which is a big flash of red and nice to see in a dark interior just like this.

Moving onto the gearstick, which is one of my favourites - it's very easy to use and I like that it's console-mounted so there's no awkward knee fondling. Below that you've got some of the best cup holders I've ever seen. And if you're a regular reader, you know how much I like a cup holder! This is something you only get at the professional trim level -  it's called 'phone and drink storage' and can fit a 1-litre bottle in there nicely - that's not going anywhere. There is also a little pocket where you can stick your phone. Excellent!

 

Boxer Clipboard

 

Moving onto the other available storage and above the passenger seats there's some storage plus a flip-top up on the dash too. Because it has air conditioning as standard, it means that this little compartment stays very cool. You can stick your sandwich or your drink in there and it will stay very nice and cool while you're on the road.

There's also a nice little cubby with a lip - some vehicles I've seen these days don't have this lip at the end so when you put something in the cubby and take a tight corner it just slides out the side. With this one, nothing is going to come out of there! Below that you've got a very nice little glovebox. There's not a whole lot of room in there I've got to say, I'd expect to see something a little bit bigger in a vehicle of this size, but you'll be able to fit your manual, your locking wheel nuts and your AdBlue filler in there absolutely no problem.

The final thing I am loving about the interior on the Boxer is what you get just under the middle seat - it's sort of a mobile office. There's some cup holders and it's also got a little clip for holding documents in place. And it's nice to see something solid being used as a clip,in some vehicles these days you just get a kind of elastic bungee cord over the centre which they tend to come out of the sides whereas this I think is probably going to stay exactly where it is. There's also some coat hooks which just add to the very practical interior.

 

Loadspace and Exterior

Boxer Loadspace

 

When you get into the back of this vehicle the first thing you notice is the gigantic doors - they're 1.8 metres high and both of them open up to the standard 90 degrees. Just on the inside they've got these little convenient buttons to allow you to open them up to a full 180 degree which gives you full access - so that 1.6 metre wide aperture. In the L3 H2 version, the vehicle's loading bay is nearly 4 metres long and height wise just over 2 metres high. I've got lots of clearance above my head and at its widest, the vehicle is 1.8 metres wide and that sims to just about 1.4 metres between the arches.

There's also some lovely ply lining and lashing points on the floor and the sides and If we track round to the side sliding door, you'll see that these doors are around 0.7 metres high and 1.5 metres wide. This means you'll be able to get pallets in from the side door and the back doors too which is what makes this van very functional and really sets it apart from its competition!

 

Driving Experience & On The Road

Boxer On The Road

 

So, let's see how this bad boy handles the tarmac! Just like the Citroen Relay, the driving position is very nice and high. The massive great big windscreen gives you superb visibility out the front of the vehicle too, which I like it a lot. Driving a large van is well, great - I've said it before and I'll say it again - driving a big van makes me feel like a big man! This shared platform is one of my favourites - very tough, very high-performing and very durable. The Peugeot is also capable of carrying very impressive payloads, especially with vehicles that are usually at the higher height and would not necessarily be able to take as much weight. It's funny actually, it's only when this vehicle gets longer that you really have to make any compromise on payload, whereas when you get a higher version of the vehicle, payload very much much stays the same

There's a significant amount of power available from this engine - it's a 2.2 litre Euro 6.2 10th diesel engine which returns excellent running costs. There's a lot of power, there's a lot of torque and the gearstick allows you access to this brilliant 6-speed gearbox which is mated to the engine and makes for a very nice drive. I mean, you need a lot of power when you're carrying 1,500 kilograms and when you're towing braked another 2,500 kilograms.

 

Boxer Exterior

 

Driving the Peugeot round tight corners you will find a little bit of wobble, but it's nothing you're not really going to expect in a van of this size. When I drop it down a couple of gears, I have enough power to get around and get control. There is a bit of a hairy moment where it just felt like the vehicle was just tipping just that little bit too much, but to be fair, that was an exceptionally tight corner you don't often get. I've been taking this round roundabouts and round standard 90-degree corners and experiencing no real issues whatsoever. The only thing that I'm very conscious of every now and then I do get a little clunk from a tree branch just on the top of this vehicle, but that's what's bound  to happen driving a vehicle like this, you'll be taking some foliage with you!

Whilst the interior may look a little bit bland, the seats themselves are very comfortable. I feel like they're hugging my bum quite nicely and I've got a nice little armrest making it quite a relaxing vehicle to drive. I've gone through a town centre, we've gone through country roads, we've gone through some A roads and B roads and now I am about to hit a dual carriageway, which will mean that I can open up the engine to see what this 2.2 litre is capable of.

When I took a very short slip road it meant getting my speed up very very fast, which is quite difficult in a vehicle of this size because you slow it down a bit to take those big corners. When you need to though, this van can, surprisingly, pick up speed fast. It handles the motorway very nicely. The one thing I noticed is that there is quite a lot of cabin noise, in fact probably more than I would remember from the Citroen Relay, but it's not too loud. And as I am coming to the end of my drive I get to test one of the great features - the reverse sensors and camera.  With a van this size, especially when it's so long, a nice siren going off while you're parking always tells you exactly where you are.

You will typically find vans like the Peugeot Boxer and the Citroen Relay in fleets because they make very cheap to run, very durable fleet vehicles. Imagine you've got multiple people jumping in and out of vans every single day, you've got guys sharing the same spaces and you've got all sorts of people jumping in at any given moment, so you need something that's tough and hard wearing. When you look around at the cabin on the Boxer it's geared up for exactly that sort of lifecycle. The very tough rubber matting on the floor handles all the boots clambering in an d out, it's got the very tough very hard to scratch black plastic all over the interior to avoid being scuffed and scratched and it's also got a very tough and hard-wearing engine, so it can over miles and adapt to different driving styles.

So whether you have someone who's a bit heavy on the clutch or someone who's a bit heavy on the accelerator, these vehicles can handle it. So if you're an independent tradesperson and you're thinking about getting a large van which is tried and tested, toughly built and meant to outlast multiple drivers and multiple driving styles - this could be your perfect choice.

 

Comparisons

OK so let's do comparisons - we can draw some obvious conclusions when put up against the Ford Transit, for example. The Ford Transit is a big powerful van with a really good engine. The eco blue 2-litre Diesel that Ford put in all their commercial vehicles is a really good engine that returns very good running costs. However, this 2.2 litre engine in the Boxer is also capable of returning very similar miles per gallon. So, you have to start looking a bit more granular… Let's go for cabins - the Ford Transit probably has a better cabin, but this one is tougher and more durable and at the professional trim level you've got cup holders! I'd usually say go for the Transit if you want the cup holders and you won't be disappointed, but actually, going for the professional trim level Peugeot Boxer and you're not going to miss them at all! This is one large van that's hard to beat!

So how do we finish? Well, for anyone who watched my review of the Citroen Relay, this is probably going to come as absolutely no surprise… overall the Peugeot Boxer is tough, it's very durable and  it returns great running cost thanks to that excellent engine beneath the bonnet. This is one pretty good large van that passes the Vanarama road test with flying colours!

 

Don't forget to check out our latest van leasing deals where you'll find everything from large vans like the Peugeot Boxer to compact city vans.

Customer reviews

Below are our customer reviews for the Peugeot Boxer. Want to have your say? Leave a review for the Peugeot Boxer now.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    February 01 2019

    Big load space made to work not to be a show van

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    January 30 2019

    Decent van for the money

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    January 17 2019

    good vehicle and reliable

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    January 10 2019

    So far, so good!! As I have only had it for a few weeks, some of which were the Christmas period, then I can't really rate all these categories yet.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    November 06 2018

    A real pleasure to drive but don't take it to a supermarket as their spaces don't cater for us van drivers !

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    October 30 2018

    N/A

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    October 22 2018

    Ideal for what the business needed

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    October 09 2018

    excellent

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    October 03 2018

    great van. Uses more fuel than I expected but not a major issue. Very happy overall

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    October 03 2018

    Amazing

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    October 02 2018

    Was recommended this van and it didn't disappoint. Reliable, economical and perfect for daily work.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    October 02 2018

    Good practical cheap van! Has aircon so really happy with that!

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    August 23 2018

    Great van

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    August 15 2018

    great van, nice specification, runs well, reliable which is necessary for me and has all the space I need for my work.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    August 06 2018

    Overall it’s a very nice van would have liked a proper locking glovebox instead of open trays on the passenger side not vanaramas fault just the way the manufacturer makes them . But overall it’s a nice drive no road noise their is a lot of extras The only thing I would get on my next van would be a reverse camera because the van is almost a meter longer than my last van but their is reverse sensors on the back so you do get used to it .

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    July 19 2018

    So far so good very pleased

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    July 17 2018

    Great van

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    June 12 2018

    Good

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 26 2018

    As this is the second Peugeot Boxer van we have we had no problem in adding another to our fleet.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 03 2018

    Good

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 01 2018

    It’s good

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    March 14 2018

    I have only given this vehicle a quick test drive personally but it was good and feedback from drivers is positive.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    March 06 2018

    Good all round van with plenty of extras Received in bad weather , heater takes forever to warm up !

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    January 31 2018

    Drives nicely , a bit boring , very flat power delivery . Everything does its job , good on fuel

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    January 18 2018

    Bit too early to say, but above based on Citroen Relays we had and just returned for the Boxers.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    December 08 2017

    Good and reliable vehicle.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    December 06 2017

    Well it managed 1731 miles before it's first major breakdown now back with Peugeot how advise me if it need part there on back order and they current have vans that have been waiting on part for 3 week of and no replacement van during repairs.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    November 30 2017

    Meets our needs.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    August 31 2017

    I know we have three Peugeots in our fleet. If all goes well, should be getting a fourth in the near future. I was skeptical at first as I've always had a Ford Transit or Mercedes Sprinter. But I would have to say the Peugeot Boxer is far superior to the Ford and the Mercedes. 1 carries more weight 2 more miles PL 3 more space between wheel arches - better for pallets. 4 comfort of the drive is also better than the other two.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    August 31 2017

    This is my second van of this type its great.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    August 15 2017

    Impressed and happy with the delivery, very professional.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    August 14 2017

    First class.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    July 19 2017

    At early stage but seems a decent work horse and economical. It's also comfy to drive.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    July 18 2017

    A decent van for an affordable price.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    July 10 2017

    Great van!

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    May 30 2017

    Good.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    May 19 2017

    The right vehicle for what we need.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 26 2017

    Nice to drive. Very comfortable, plenty of room in the back.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 24 2017

    So far it's met all my requirements.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 21 2017

    Slightly underpowered but may get better when run in.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    March 21 2017

    Van very good value for money Load space on LWB is excellent. Sat nav/air con added bonus. Drives like a car would highly recommend.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    March 02 2017

    Best deal.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    February 21 2017

    Good van. Great value! Great spec.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    January 31 2017

    Brilliant vehicle. Meets all my needs with both reliability and capacity. I'm able to both carry my tools comfortably and still have space for material if the need arises. It is also very comfortable to drive and economical.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    January 24 2017

    Great all round van, I have recommended to two other colleagues.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    January 24 2017

    The van is just what I was after for my building company and has so far become a daily asset while carrying out are day to day business.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    November 28 2016

    I got a Citroen relay!

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    November 15 2016

    Very nice van! Everything and more we need.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    November 10 2016

    Does what we need it to do. Reliable and good value for money.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    November 08 2016

    Some of the questions above are not relevant, like running costs and reliability, we have only just got it!

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    October 13 2016

    Very spacious, well equipped, slightly slower than previous van but as its larger it was to be expected.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    October 11 2016

    Overall and a nice van and lot cheaper.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    September 28 2016

    Excellent van.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    August 23 2016

    Excellent van, so much more space.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    August 16 2016

    I really rate the van, although I've only been driving it for only a couple of weeks. Any problems raised in other reviews (too few cup holders, handbrake in way, visibility of speedometer, etc) I disagree with.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    July 18 2016

    Very nice, satisfied with the vehicle.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    June 29 2016

    Very pleased with the van and a lot bigger than I expected it to be.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    June 22 2016

    A great van, except for the fact that the handbrake is on the right hand side.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    June 13 2016

    Exactly what I needed. Fits my demands.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    June 13 2016

    Only had it for a week but so far a really great van for the money and well equipped.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    June 07 2016

    I haven't done many miles yet but I'm very impressed with the Boxer so far, very easy to drive, comfortable, great spec with air-con, cruise control etc. Looks like it will be an economical van to run and looks smart. Very pleased so far.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    June 06 2016

    Excellent van and ideal for my purpose.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    June 06 2016

    Really nice van to drive and so practical for my job.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    May 24 2016

    Great van at a great price.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    May 19 2016

    Beautiful van, just what I wanted.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    May 17 2016

    I've only had the vehicle for just over one week and used it infrequently due to circumstances, but initial thoughts are impressive with the only down side at present being the location of the hand break (at the right) which I'm sure I will get used to. Overall it appears good value for money and a big increase in size compared to similar prices for a Vauxhall Vivaro.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    May 17 2016

    I used to have Renault Master and decided on this van because it had more comprehensive specs in the cab for a cheaper price. So far all seems good and I have to say that I'm happy with everything so far.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    May 10 2016

    I've been running it 4 weeks, it seems noisy on start up but after a minute or so it's ok. Initially I found the viewing of the speedometer impossible, you have to lean slightly to the right to see it so this has now become my driving position. The plastic flap under the steering column can sometimes be caught by your feet when operating the pedals and I feel like I'm missing something with only 1 drinks holder. Overall even with these findings I would order the van again, the space in the back is awesome, I really do like it.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    May 03 2016

    I've only done 800 miles but its proving very good so far.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 28 2016

    The van is good.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 26 2016

    My new van has given me the extra room I so badly needed. Having a built-in SatNav as well as Bluetooth has been very handy as my phone rings non-stop. I also had the pleasure of dealing with John Molloy, who organised the process of getting my new van.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 15 2016

    We are using the van to move furniture, house clearances, car boots etc. and it is ideal for these jobs. Thank you for giving us a great deal.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 15 2016

    It's very practical and a joy to drive. The power steering makes it so easy to manoeuvre it's almost like driving a cloud, also the parking sensors are an added bonus in a van as you know how close you are to an obstacle behind. The space in the back is brilliant, as a plumber it's handy for me as I can fit full length pipes in the back. I've also been able to fit 4.4 meter lengths of wood in as it's got an over head bulk. All in all I think it's a great van.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 15 2016

    I'm a plasterer so the van is ideal for 8x4 plaster boards plus it has loads of room for all the other kit and material we carry. Good bulk head for power tools and screws etc. You won't win a races with it, It's steady to drive. A great tool. Loads of cab bits I didn't expect too including a USB port, hands free, Sat-Nav, aircon, speed camera aware and rear parking sensors. The seats are comfy too. Overall a really good price for a really good van.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    April 15 2016

    So far it seems all good, it has all the gadgets and extra's in the cab. It seems to have enough power even with a bit of weight in it.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    March 08 2016

    It seems good so far.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    January 05 2016

    Used the van for two weeks and very good so far.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    November 19 2015

    For a professional model I would expect more, fog lights, heated seats etc.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    March 27 2015

    Great van, very well specified.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    February 09 2015

    The van is a good size. Takes an 8x4 comfortably, and anything 3.6m long. It drives superb, Well balanced, all mod cons with blue tooth, sat nav, cruise control etc.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    December 08 2014

    Only received today but so far no problems, fit for our purpose.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    November 04 2014

    So far so good. It's nice to drive and loading space is better than our transits.

  • Peugeot Peugeot Boxer
    July 25 2014

    Haven't driven it yet

Read more reviews